To Write or Not To Write

Since it only took me 1 1/2 hours to FIND my blog, I question how effective I will be as a blogger. I have forgotten the cool statements I had constructed in my head as I tossed and turned after 3:30AM, and finally got up at 4:30 to record these cool thoughts. I once had my blog bookmarked, but somehow (!) lost the bookmark, then this morning I got distracted with organizing my bookmarks. Anyone know how to use XMarks? Great concept, but I sure could use some help with the details of how to work it!

My new inspiration to continue to blog comes from two sources. One, I want to be a more effective writing teacher with my students in the computer lab and our new Writing Center at OTES, so I need to be a more experienced writer myself. Two, at our annual Tech Academy yesterday, the keynote speaker, Jim Wells, challenged us to become ‘advanced’ digital citizens, and one of the criteria is to blog. So I’m blogging.

Mostly, I wonder who will read this. There are thousands, more certainly millions, out there blogging away. I wonder who will read THEIR blogs. A majority of the ones I’ve opened simply ramble, bramble, tramble on and on and on about nothing that interests me. I do have ONE I read, Debbie Reese’s ‘American Indians in Children’s Literature.’ What makes hers different? First, it is relevant to me. I can use almost everything she posts. Second, it is well written. She doesn’t ramble, she makes a point, backs it up with evidence (go Common Core!) and then stops. Third, she recently revamped the site – looks good.

I used to read Marc Aronson when he did the ‘Non-Fiction in Focus’ column for School Library Journal. But that was not really a blog as it was simply an electronic version of his column in the print journal. So does that count as following a blog? Another example of how the traditional lines of defining types of reading and writing are daily becoming more and more blurry. In the past year or so, his column looks more like a blog as he posts, and, his discussions are not as focused on non-fiction books themselves. So much for NF in Focus.

Another challenge Wells gave us was to participate in online discussions. I will head to CommonSense Meda to see what’s going on there, and also to the Digital Storytelling Association site to see what they have happening.

Leave a Reply

